Those who build & labor in the heat – under appreciated?

I was in the local store recently and saw a construction worker pick up what looked like a drink. Maybe it was curiosity or my shamelessness to mind my own business but I approached a little closer. The guy looked at the price, pondered for a bit and simply put it back in its place.

I looked at him and saw the silent cry of sadness reverberating through his face presumably due to the poignant reminder of his financial reality (Read the preceding post for appropriate context). After he had left I examined the drink, an iced tea priced at AED 2.50 ($0.68), and my heart sank right through me as the gravity of his simple act hit me. I realized how privileged and ungrateful I was for all the privileges I’ve ever had.

Not only are they underpaid, they’re undervalued as well. So the next time you pass by a worker/builder/construction worker and you’re not in a hurry, give him a smile or a little pat on the back. Let him know YOU care and appreciate his efforts.

For these hard working individuals of society are under appreciated, and their efforts shall forever be lost between the sweat & cement of the brick walls they spend their lives building.

6 comments

  1. INCOMESCO / Jesi · August 4, 2015

    Its really heart touching. So true. Thanks for the post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Howto$tuffYourPig · August 4, 2015

    What a beautiful and touching post! It is so sad how many people are both underappreciated and undervalued. It’s a great reminder to thank them for all that they do.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. faexa · August 5, 2015

    That last paragraph really got me in the feels…

    Like

  4. faexa · August 11, 2015

    Reblogged this on focuswithfaeza.

    Like

  5. sulfen · September 9, 2015

    We take our working class people for granted all of the time. But there is another side to the working class. My father has worked at a dairy for 14 years and in that time he has managed to purchase 3 houses. He only goes out maybe 4-5 times per years and he doesn’t spend any money on anything unless it’s required because he knows the value of the dollar.

    Maybe he was debating on whether or not to spoil himself. My dad always complained how a bottled water costs $1.50 when you can buy 40 bottles for $3 at the store here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sulaiman Dawood · September 9, 2015

      Your dad seems like a man who knows the value of hard work. Kind of reminds me of my father, who came from a poor and rural family, and had to work his way up.
      I think another factor is that in developed countries, workers have better pay due to less supply.

      Like

Leave a Reply

